Welcome to the Humboldt, CA Branch of AAUW!

April 6th Branch Meeting Information:

Wind energy in Humboldt County with the perspective of the industry (RWE).
Ciara Emery, RWE’s Local Government and Stakeholder Engagement Manager.

This month we are going to continue our series on the challenges and opportunities around offshore wind energy in Humboldt County with the perspective of the industry.

RWE, is a world-leading developer of offshore wind. In late 2022 RWE successfully secured the right to develop an up to 1.6 GW project 28 miles off the coast of Humboldt County. The project has the potential to power more than 600,000 homes and is expected to be in operation by the mid-2030s. Ushering in an innovative new industry to Humboldt, the project will bring with it significant infrastructure investment, jobs and local benefits for generations to come.

Red Lion Inn, 1929 Fourth Street, Eureka
9:30 a.m. Social
10:00 a.m. Brunch
Meal Cost: $30.00 (includes beverage)
Beverage only $8.00
Breakfast burritos, Scrambled Eggs, Breakfast Potatoes, Cheese, Bell pepper, Onions, Sausage, Cut Fruit
10:30 Speaker

Click here to Register or contact Maggie Augustine – mag3022@gmail.com .


Honoring our Re-entry Scholarship winners

Julia Cavalli, Michelle Long, Keana Richmond and Tina Taylor

Read more about our 2023 Honorees

Notebook Computers Awarded to Two Outstanding Continuing High School Graduates

Dorothy Skjonsby and Mary Lou Lowry coordinated the awarding of notebook computers to two Humboldt County high school students. These students were selected by their teachers for their outstanding high school performance and interest in continuing education.

Magaly Gema Orea graduated from East High School, Fortuna on May 26, 2023. The faculty at East High recognized Magaly as a hard-working student who is committed to community service and continuing her education after graduation. Teacher Jacey Spies noted that Magaly volunteered in the afternoon with the Life Skills classroom and is currently working hard to get her paraprofessional certification, with plans to go to school after graduation to become an elementary educator.

The other awardee, Shasta Kirby, recently earned her high school diploma from Eureka Adult School and intends to further her education at College of the Redwoods. She completed her diploma while working full time, caring for her family, and tending to her small farm of rescue animals. Her teacher Rebecca Twiss wrote that “Shasta is remarkable for her dedication, perseverance, and positivity. Her high level of engagement and ability to advocate for herself are strengths that will lead to success in all of her endeavors.”

Our chapter has been offering an annual award to one or two outstanding female continuation high school students in the county for about 40 years now, starting out by awarding dictionaries but shifting to digital platforms as the times have changed, with this year’s awardees each receiving a notebook computer.

December 2023 Meeting




December 2022 Meeting

March Tea 2020




Book Group meeting

Book Group Meeting


April 2019

Kyla Baxley, Pres. Nancy Kay, Young Porambo


Kyla Baxley, DA Maggie Fleming, Young Porambo

March 2019 – Women’s History Tea


February 2019

Checking in at the Red Lion

Teck Trek studen Tehya Tuttle and her mother.

Sharon and Mary Lou getting lunch.

Speaker Tom Gage and President Nancy Kay.

Geo Bee Winners

Geo Bee winner from Washington School Ruby Sipma

Geo Bee winners at Zane Middle School (and teachers)

Holiday Gala, December 2018

November 2018 Bridge Group


Carol Kinser, Roseanne Hurst, Deborah Harmon, and Deanne Erks, play bridge in an AAUW bridge group.

Deanne Erks plays bridge with an ACE up her sleeve.

November 2018

Saroj Gilbert taught us about emergency preparedness.



Nancy Dean brought us brochures about emergency preparedness.

Saroj Gilbert

New Member Meeting October 2018

October 2018

Alex Stillman, Alanna Powell, and Nancy Kay.

Alanna Powell explains Humboldt Made

Alanna Powell shows a video about Humboldt Made.









Meeting check-in.

President Nancy Kay shows members our website improvements







September 2018

Speaker Kayla Begay

Nancy Dean, Treasurer, and Nancy Kay, President, present the budget for approval.

Our handbook/directory distribution


Tech Trek student Linea Viznor

Our potluck lunch.

Kayla Begay and father enjoying lunch


May 2018 – Annual Meeting

Members at Ingomar Club.

Speaker Dr. Jen Maguire.

President thanks Board of Directors.

April 2018

Joyce Hayes presented information on how to promote independence for older adults.

March 2018 – Women’s History Tea

AAUW to Honor Carol Kinser and Felicia Oldfather at March History Tea

Carol Kinser – History Tea Honoree

Felicia Oldfather – History Tea Honoree


Geography Bees Winners

South Bay: Principal Mr. Storts, Winner Ethan Alburo, Runners-up Elijah Contreras Velasco and Salma Awward.


Zane Middle School: Runner-up Oliver Christensen, Teacher Zachary Lehner, Winner Issac Young, Runner-up Jacob Taylor.

Alice Birney: Judge Georgeanne Fulstone-Pucillo, Winner Victor Fuentes, Moderator David Fogel, and Judge Patti Guentes.


Washington School: Winner Sage Nord, Runner-ups Mahak Mehmood and Casandra Anne Hardin.

February 2018


Molly Cate, our speaker, tells us about “behind the veil.”

Jane Woodward, our International Chair, introduces Molly Cate.









Dorothy Skjonsby reminds members about Teck Trek.

Eleanor Gayner teaches the Branch some emergency preparedness tips.

President Nancy Kay.


CCC student, Patricia Jimenez Sauceio, describes the goals of the CCC.















December 2017 – Holiday Gala and Scholarship Raffle

Gala Committee

Scholarship recipients and Scholarship Committee

Scholarship winners

Nancy Dean was a big winner.

Connie Stewart and scholarship recipient.

November 2017

HSU students and Erin Sullivan, their advisor, attend the November Branch meeting.

Maggie Gainer teaches the Branch about Zero Waste.










October 2017

October meeting: Sofia Pereira explains to the Branch why women should run for public office.

HSU student Rena Accetta, AAUW member, Alex Stillman, and speaker, Sofia Pereira at the October meeting.










September 2017


Suzann Simpson explains the benefits of locally grown food.









August 2017

Richard Kimball and VOTE SMART

AAUW and the League of Women Voters invited Richard Kimball, President of VOTE SMART, to Humboldt County.  See Mr. Kimball’s full presentation about why facts matter, and the reasons behind political intolerance.   Most importantly, learn how we can fight back.